Can Pakistan win the 2023 ODI World Cup?

Many commentators rank Pakistan as an underdog at the forthcoming ODI World Cup 2023, but the Men in Green could pull off a pleasant surprise. Pakistan finds itself in a class with the unwanted ‘underdog’ tag as they have failed to replicate heroics of the Imran Khan-led 1992 squad.

Pakistan has always had strong ODI World Cup teams since that time but have always flattered to deceive at these events. 2023 provides another opportunity for the Falcons to show their worth on the world stage and cop a second ODI World Cup trophy for Pakistan after 31 years.

Why Can Pakistan Win the 2023 ODI World Cup 2023?


Man management is an essential factor in the success of any cricket team at ODI World Cups. Pakistan’s appointment of Grant Bradburn as head coach could be the turning point they need to triumph in India 2023.  Bradburn’s strategic approach to management and inspirational potential could drive the Men in Green to their second title after 20+ years.

Batting and bowling

Impressive batting and bowling numbers could be the major force behind Pakistan’s potential WC win. Pakistan has some of the sport’s best players in each department and they’re not lacking ace fielders too.

Talent pool

Pakistan has some of the talented players in ODI cricket with multiple record holders featuring for the Men in Green. Pakistan’s domestic talent management structure has grown in recent years, giving rise to talented players in all departments. Their impressive talent pool and squad depth could come into play as they prepare their squad ahead of scheduled ODI WC games.


Pakistan’s team ability has grown over the years to mirror the individual brilliance from players. The team now has a strong showing in each department and could transition their impressive teamwork to a greater advantage in India. Their recent showing at the last Twenty20 World Cup underscores Pakistan’s readiness to take the world by storm from October 2023.

ODI World Cup Winners: Full List From 1975 to 2019

 ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List
YearWinnerSecond PlaceHostResult in the Final
1975West IndiesAustraliaEnglandW. Indies win by 17 runs
1979West IndiesEnglandEnglandW. Indies win by 92 runs
1983IndiaWest IndiesEnglandIndia wins by 43 runs
1987AustraliaEnglandIndia and PakistanAustralia wins by 7 runs
1992PakistanEnglandAustralia and New ZealandPakistan wins by 22 runs
1996Sri LankaAustraliaPakistan and IndiaSri Lanka win by 7 wickets
1999AustraliaPakistanEnglandAustralia wins by 8 wickets
2003AustraliaIndiaSouth AfricaAustralia wins by 125 runs
2007AustraliaSri LankaWest IndiesAustralia wins by 53 runs
2011IndiaSri LankaIndia and BangladeshIndia wins by 6 wickets
2015AustraliaNew ZealandAustralia and New ZealandAustralia wins by 7 wickets
2019EnglandNew ZealandEngland and WalesEngland wins on a boundary count after a tense game that led to a Super Over

How Many Teams Have Won the ODI World Cup Since Its Creation?

Only six (6) teams have won the ODI Cricket World Cup since its first tournament in 1975. Many other teams that have been a part of the event have failed to secure the title in more than four decades.

ODI World Cup Winners List By Number of Titles Won and Years

Teams that have won the ODI Cricket World Cup in history and their number of titles won are listed below:

TeamNumber of ODI World Cup TitlesYears of ODI World Cup Won
Australia51987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
West Indies21975, 1979
India21983, 2011
Sri Lanka11996

Australia remains the most successful ODI World Cup team after 12 quadrennial events with five (5) trophies. The most decorated ODI World Cup side of all time won their first trophy in 1997 with a three-peat occurring between 1999 and 2007. Their last title was in 2015 and they failed to make it to the 2019 finals.

The West Indies (champions in 1975 and 1979) and India (1983 and 2011) have two titles each. The trio of England (2019), Pakistan (1992), and Sri Lanka (1996) have won a title each.

Does Pakistan’s Team Have More ODI World Cup Runner-Up Places than Titles?

Pakistan has one runner-up place (1999) and one title (1992) at the ODI World Cup from 1975 to 2019. The teams with more ODI WC runner-up places than titles are Sri Lanka (2 runner-up places and 1 title) and New Zealand (2 runner-up places and no title).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

rapid Bonus2
Best Cricket Betting Sites
Crickex BDT

Cashback Up to ৳5,00,000

Crickex NPR

30% Daily Sports Bonus

Crickex PKR

Free 1,000 PKR Birthday Bonus

Crickex INR

1.2% Unlimited Slots Rebate

Crickex LKR

8.88% Daily Bonus up to Rs.888