MI vs RCB Toss Tampering Allegations: Fact or Fiction?

The Mumbai Indians (MI) defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at the Wankhede in April 2024. The game was largely one-sided, with MI taking RCB to the cleaners once more in this competition. Many talking points came up during and after the game, with the toss tampering allegations taking centre stage.  

Controversy brewed from the game’s onset as match referee Javagal Srinath was accused of toss tampering. It appears that MI captain Hardik Pandya’s toss went out of view before Srinath announced the winner. Both captains did not see the coin before Srinath declared a toss winner.

Fans have come to express their support or dissatisfaction with comments from other cricket supporters over this incident.

Did Srinath Get Involved in Another Toss Gone Wrong?

There was no immediate toss controversy in Srinath’s next game as referee, but it was still an outing that raised eyebrows. RCB’s next game vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) saw an animated but inaudible exchange take place between captains of both teams. RCB captain Faf du Plessis appeared to recount the controversy with SRH skipper Pat Cummins during the toss.

The spirited discussion between players saw fans take to social media once more, with some comments lampooning the IPL referee. Some comments also targeted the Ambani family who own the MI franchise:

IPL is a fund generating tournament of BCCI…all matches are pre decided by IPL Match Controller… hats off to match controller.”, a user commented, alleging that the IPL is a fixed competition with pre-determined results.

Cheating on every front it seems…..Ambani Premier League…LOL….toss, referee, umpires…ho kya Raha hai is IPL season main.”, a comment read while taking a jibe at officials throughout the IPL.

Many fans commented in support of the toss and referee Srinath, with one post saying:

A clear Video of the toss…If You Still having doubt Either go to Eye Hospital or Mental hospital,”

Were the Toss Tampering Allegations True?

Several videos released after the MI vs RCB incident appear to show no foul play at toss. However, the outcry from fans and both captains was enough to make this moment controversial.

Is Officiating Controversial in the IPL?

The Indian Premier League (IPL) ranks highest among franchise cricket competitions worldwide. It is only natural that such a popular competition will receive extra attention than others. Many events in previous seasons have caused controversies, but none has ever tainted the league’s image.

The IPL remains one of cricket’s most exciting tournaments with top officiating and impeccable inclusions to the sport’s shortest format.

What Other Event Made Major Headlines in MI vs RCB 2024?

MI pacer Jasprit Bumrah amassed a fifer during this game. He gave away 21 runs in four (4) overs. Bumrah also secured the MoTM award.

Bumrah’s impressive performances caught the eye of several commentators and countless fans. The bowler had this to say about his outing against RCB in IPL 2024:

I am very happy with the outcome. But I will not say I had always thought of taking a five-for. The wicket was sticking in the first 10 overs. One of those days where things went in my favour and catches went to hand. In this format, it’s anyway very harsh on the bowlers so you need to have different skills.

Bumrah attributed his skills to wide-ranging practice, research, and constant on-field learning:

Can’t be a one-trick pony. Everyone is doing research and data. Have trained to have different skills. Bowling is tough because you will have to take a beating, you will have to have bad days to learn from it.” Bumrah concluded.

The MI team continue their fine progression in IPL 2024 and could be on course to the playoffs if other results pan out well.

MI IPL 2024 Squad List and Group Schedule

Wicketkeepers: Ishan Kishan, Vishnu Vinod.

Batters: Dewald Brevis (SA), N. Tilak Varma, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, and Tim David (AUS)

All-rounders: Gerald Coetzee (SA), Hardik Pandya, Mohammad Nabi (AFG), Naman Dhir, Nehal Wadhera, Romario Shepherd (WI), Shams Mulani, and Shivalik Sharma.

Bowlers: Akash Madhwal, Anshul Kamboj, Arjun Tendulkar, Dilshan Madushanka (SL), Jason Behrendorff (AUS), Jasprit Bumrah, Kumar Kartikeya, Nuwan Thushara (SL), Piyush Chawla, and Shreyas Gopal.

RCB IPL 2024 Squad List

Wicketkeepers: Anuj Rawat, Dinesh Karthik.

Batters: Faf du Plessis (SA), Rajat Patidar, Saurav Chauhan, Suyash Prabhudessai, and Virat Kohli.

All-rounders: Cameron Green (AUS), Glenn Maxwell (AUS), Mahipal Lomror, Manoj Bhandage, Swapnil Singh, Tom Curran (ENG), and Will Jacks (ENG). Bowlers: Akash Deep, Alzarri Joseph (WI), Himanshu Sharma, Karn Sharma, Lockie Ferguson (NZ), Mayank Dagar, Mohammed Siraj, Rajan Kumar, Reece Topley (ENG), Vijaykumar Vyshak, and Yash Dayal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

rapid Bonus2
Best Cricket Betting Sites
Crickex BDT

Cashback Up to ৳5,00,000

Crickex NPR

30% Daily Sports Bonus

Crickex PKR

Free 1,000 PKR Birthday Bonus

Crickex INR

1.2% Unlimited Slots Rebate

Crickex LKR

8.88% Daily Bonus up to Rs.888