T20 World Cup 2024: Which Teams Will India Face in Super 8?

India cruised to the Super 8s at the T20 WC 2024 in superb fashion. The Men in Blue will now face seeded teams Afghanistan, Australia, and Bangladesh in Group 1. Fans expect India to face some tough sides at the Super 8 stage and are already keen to know their final opponents.

When Will the Super 8 Begin?

The T20 WC 2024 will start on June 19, 2024 and run until June 24, 2024. Seeded teams with a place in the last eight will lock horns for a chance to qualify for the ICC T20 WC 2024 semi-finals. Only four teams can progress from this stage. Each team will play three matches each among qualifying sides per group.

Which Teams Have Qualified for the T20 World Cup 2024 Super 8s So Far?

The USA, India, Australia, Afghanistan, West Indies, and South Africa have a spot at the Super 8s as of June 15, 2024.One of England/Scotland (from Group B) and Netherlands/Bangladesh (from Group D) will take the two spots left to round off eight qualifying teams.

How is the Super 8 Group Divided?

The Super 8 groups are split in two – Groups 1 and 2. Both groups have four qualifying teams each according to their progress from the original groupings.

In Group 1, teams in first after all first-round matches from Group A and C book a place. Second-placed teams from Groups B and D complete Super 8 qualifiers for the first grouping.

In Group 2, teams who finish first after first-round games in Group B and D will book their Super 8 spot here. Second-placed sides from Group A and C round off groupings for the second half.

See the current schedule based on qualified teams and squads with a mathematical chance to book their place:

Group 1Group 2
AfghanistanSouth Africa
BangladeshWest Indies

How Will the Semi-Finalists Book their Place from the Super 8 Stage?

The top two teams in each Super 8 group will progress to the T20 WC semi-finals after all matches are complete.

What is the Super 8 Qualification Path for Bangladesh, England, Scotland, and the Netherlands?

Two Super 8 slots up for grabs between Scotland/England and The Netherlands/Bangladesh will be decided by June 16, 2024.


England will look to book a Super 8s spot ahead of Scotland by beating Namibia on June 15, 2024. The match (scheduled to start at 10:30pm IST) will not confirm England’s qualification outright.

Team England skipper Jos Butler and his squad must wait for Scotland’s game against Australia. England will only go through if Scotland fail to beat Australia. Scotland vs Australia will hold on Sunday, June 16, 2024 at 6:00am IST.


The Netherlands will not qualify if they fail to defeat Sri Lanka in their last group game. However, their chances of qualification isn’t hinged on a win alone. The Netherlands side must hope Bangladesh fail to win versus Nepal if they are to go through. Bangladesh goes through if they can beat Nepal at their final group game, regardless of the Netherlands vs Sri Lanka outcome.

T20 WC 2024 Super 8s Schedule: Matches, Time, and Venues

Group 1

Thursday, June 20, 2024Afghanistan vs India8:00 PMKensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados
Friday, June 21, 2024Australia vs Bangladesh6:00 AMSir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua and Barbuda
Saturday, June 22, 2024India vs Bangladesh8:00 PMSir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua and Barbuda
Sunday, June 23, 2024Afghanistan vs Australia6:00 AMArnos Vale Ground, Kingstown, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Monday, June 24, 2024Australia vs India8:00 PMDaren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia
Group 2

June 19, 2024, WednesdayUSA vs South Africa8:00 PMSir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua and Barbuda
June 20, 2024, ThursdayEngland vs West Indies6:00 AMDaren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia
June 21, 2024, FridayEngland vs South Africa8:00 PMDaren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia
June 22, 2024, SaturdayUSA vs West Indies6:00 AMKensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados
June 23, 2024, SundayUSA vs England8:00 PMKensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados
June 24, 2024, MondayWest Indies vs South Africa6:00 AMSir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua and Barbuda

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *